Mark 1:1-4

Today I start a devotional in the gospels. My fascination with the words of Jesus continues, and I know that I need the encouragement from His life. I often wonder what “Jesus would do” or “think” in many of my mundane or perplexing situations.

John the Baptist Prepares the Way

1The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.[a] 2As it is written in Isaiah the prophet,[b]

“Behold, I send my messenger before your face,
who will prepare your way,
3the voice of one crying in the wilderness:
‘Prepare[c] the way of the Lord,
make his paths straight,'”

4John appeared, baptizing in the wilderness and proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.

You just have to wonder how John knew to do what he did. No mentoring, no schooling, no examples, just the leading of the Holy Spirit. I think we forget about the activity of the Holy Spirit pre-pentecost, but there was obviously communication here. John had just limited access to Scriptures (being out in the wilderness) but was still sure of what he should do. What a rebuke, and what a lesson. I tell myself I need more assurance–more knowledge, more help, more guidance. If I just had the faith and the tuning in the John did. He is amazing and truly an overlooked astounding example of doing God’s work.

Lord, help me to follow the leading of your Spirit. Help me to truly be tuned into your will and your desires.

~ by shoesofiron on June 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
